The Last Day on My Calendar

Another major prediction about the day the world will end.  Do you believe it?  Are you the least bit curious to see what will happen that day?  Does it change anything about the way you are living today?  Are you going to rush out and finish up your bucket list in the next couple of days…just in case?  Should such a prediction about the impending end of the world change how you live?

I’m not sure how many such predictions have been out there over the years.  So far…none of them have come true.  We are still here.  The world continues to spin on its axis.  Life goes on.

We all have our appointed time to die.  Christ has promised to return one day.  None of us gets off this planet alive.  One day…the world really will end.  But, I’m not so sure it will be on a day we are looking for it to.  I’m not so sure it will end on a day someone has predicted.  According to this verse, Jesus himself doesn’t even know when it will end, so how could the Mayan’s?

32 “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. 33 Be on guard! Be alert[e]! You do not know when that time will come. 34 It’s like a man going away: He leaves his house and puts his servants in charge, each with their assigned task, and tells the one at the door to keep watch.

35 “Therefore keep watch because you do not know when the owner of the house will come back—whether in the evening, or at midnight, or when the rooster crows, or at dawn. 36 If he comes suddenly, do not let him find you sleeping. 37 What I say to you, I say to everyone: ‘Watch!’” – Mark 13:32-37

I do think about these end of times prophesies.  They do make me curious to see what will happen on those days.  Truth be told, something inside of me gets a little uneasy when I think about them.  But, should they make me uneasy?  Should it really matter to me what day the world ends?  Should my life be any different knowing or not knowing what day it will end?  Shouldn’t my life be lived to the fullest every day, whether I have 4 days or 40 years left on this planet?  If I thought for sure that Christ was set to return this Friday should I have to change that much about the way I am living today?  Or should my life be lived in fullness for Him every day whether He chooses to return that day or not?

I don’t know how many days I have left on this planet.  I don’t know how many days this planet has left…or years…or decades.  I do know it matters how I live.  I do know it matters who I am living for when that time comes.  Since I don’t know…perhaps I should live every day like it’s the last day on MY calendar…I’m pretty sure that one is more important for me than the last day on the Mayan calendar.

Leave a Reply

