The Trinity revealed…Again! :)

Today I am bursting at the seams to share something really cool about this journey I am on.  I am bursting at the seams to share a very exciting discovery I have been blessed to have revealed to me.

When you have gone to the same “denomination” all your life you tend to have had the same view of scripture.  You tend to have been taught or read the bible through similar lenses no matter who was delivering the message…with a few personal differences and observations thrown in.  Now, before anyone gets all panicked…scripture is scripture.  The bible is God’s word, God breathed, God inspired.  It doesn’t change.  Everyone that has one has the same one, although they may have a different translation.  BUT, there is a whole lot of information in there.  There is a whole lifetime of growing and learning and understanding.  We were given the Holy Spirit to help us understand it and apply it for a reason.  God knew man couldn’t figure it out on his own.  Not everyone reads the bible and comes up with the same doctrine.  Very smart, well-educated scholars don’t even all agree with each other.  Because of this each “denomination” seems have their own key verses and observations.

No, that is not what has me busting at the seams.

I recently started attending a church that places a lot of emphasis on the Holy Spirit.  This is new for me and something I am quickly growing to LOVE.  One of the things I am really enjoying is learning more about the Holy Spirit and how he works in our lives.  Another thing I am loving about this new emphasis is the increased awareness of the Holy Spirit in scripture.  I am enjoying an increased awareness of the Trinity in scripture.  Last week I blogged about finding the Trinity in the throne room of Heaven.  That was an amazing discovery for me and one I am drawn back to daily in my thinking.  Talk about something that will renew your mind….

Recently the Trinity was pointed out to me in the covenant of baptism in a beautiful way I had not seen before.  This weekend I got to see them represented in the Lord’s Prayer.  Each one of these observations have been so clear I couldn’t believe I had missed it, but then again, I wasn’t exactly looking.  I’ll be looking from now on because there is a reason we were given the Holy Spirit…many reasons.  I don’t want to miss the significance of and power in the scriptures because I missed a part of God I wasn’t looking for.

Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
10 Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
11 Give us this day our daily bread.
12 And forgive us our debts,
As we forgive our debtors.
13 And do not lead us into temptation,
But deliver us from the evil one.
For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.

Matthew 6:9-13

Leave a Reply

