Snap Out of IT!

It’s time to change the only thing I really have any control over and that is my attitude.  Last year I participated in a 40 day negativity fast and determined to make it a life style change and not just a fast.  Funny how easily you can slip back into that pit once you have climbed out of it.  I looked up this week and noticed that my negativity and internal focus of late has created quite a ripple affect…one that I am not proud to be a part of.  It has almost completely wiped out my followers of this blog…nuts!…I really enjoy this blog and really want it to be a place people want to stop by.  If you have hung in with me…thank you!

I found myself joining in on the negativity fest that followed the election results last night and was snapped back into focus really fast by a friend of mine who has a way of snapping you back into focus with amazing skill.

“The power of life and death is in the tongue.  Be careful what you prophesy.” – Lisa Tuttle

I needed that reminder at that very moment.  It is so easy to slip down a path of negativity and gloom and doom, but that is not the path I was intended to walk on.  I was made to walk in the light and carry the light with me.  I was made to walk in joy.

This morning as I was thinking about that and the negativity fast my mind went to some other people who are pillars of faith who lived joy filled lives in the midst of some very dire circumstances.  These aren’t people who I know personally or people I even know a whole lot about, but I know enough to know they would be looking at the circumstances of today in a whole different light than many of the opinions I’ve read.  They would certainly not be aiding in the spread of negativity.  I thought I’d look up some of their more famous quotes and see what I might share for today.  Somehow I think they might be posting these things or similar if they were here to do it for themselves.

When a train goes through a tunnel and it gets dark, you don’t throw away the ticket and jump off. You sit still and trust the engineer. – Corrie Ten Boom

Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God. – Corrie Ten Boom

Worry is a cycle of inefficient thoughts whirling around a center of fear. – Corrie Ten Boom

Words which do not give the light of Christ increase the darkness – Mother Teresa

I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples. – Mother Teresa

I do not want the ripples created by my life to be the kind that cause others to sink farther into a pit of negativity and despair.   I realize we live in a fallen world, but the fruits I was made to produce and center my life around leave no room for a negative spirit to operate within me or within my domain.

God is in control!

 

Leave a Reply

