Music Monday: Thankful for the River!

As I ponder things I am thankful for I am drawn to these two verses that have been a part of my pondering for several days.

Now on the last day, the great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to Me and drink.  He who believes in Me, as the Scripture said, “From his innermost being will flow rivers of living water.”  But this He spoke of the Spirit, whom those who believed in Him were to receive; for the Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus was not yet glorified. – John 7:37-39

Then he showed me a river of the water of life, clear as crystal, coming from the throne of God and of the Lamb, in the middle of its street.  On either side of the river was the tree of life, bearing twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit every month, and the leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. – Revelation 22:1-2

These verses have filled me with an incredible amount of peace.  I don’t know if the river that flows from the throne of God is the same river that flows inside of me for sure, but it sure does appear that way to me.  I’ve been very interested in how God points out his character in the three parts of Him…Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  I’ve been led to some very interesting things lately in scripture that seem to point very clearly to 3 in 1 aspects of Him in places I’d never seen them before.

It is incredible to me to think that the “rivers of living water” in John which is the Holy Spirit is the “river of the water of life” that flows from the throne of God.  It is the same river that waters the tree of Life, the son of God.  And it is more incredible to me to think about the scripture in Revelation in terms of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  All parts of the Trinity represented!

God has been drawing me to His throne room for a while now.  As I meditate on these verses, I am drawn once more to that place.  I am overwhelmed by the idea that the river that flows from the throne room is the same river that flows inside of me.  It should have been enough to know the Holy Spirit lives inside of me.  That in and of itself should have been enough.  But WOW…the revelation that the power inside of me…guiding me…comforting me…flows from the very throne room.  I am awed!  I am thankful!

Deep calls to deep…keep calling me deeper Lord!

5 thoughts on “Music Monday: Thankful for the River!

  1. […] Last week I blogged about finding the Trinity in the throne room of Heaven.  That was an amazing discovery for me and one I am drawn back to daily in my thinking.  Talk about something that will renew your […]

  2. […] Music Monday: Thankful for the River! (ponderingbylaurie.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] prayer thru some very powerful teaching on the subject of prayer.  He even used scripture that I recently pondered from a different angle to teach me something I would need in order to strengthen my prayer […]

  4. Jeni St. Onge says:

    Cool Blog, Laurie… Thanks for sharing!

  5. […] Music Monday: Thankful for the River! (ponderingbylaurie.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

