Thankfully Overcoming!

Tonight was a wonderful night for worship. The song in this post was declared by an auditorium full of worshipers. It was powerful. It was Spirit-filled. I love nights filled with energized, heart-felt worship.  The time of worship was followed by an incredible lesson on the Lord’s Prayer.

The section of the prayer highlighted tonight was Matthew 6:13 – 13 ‘And do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from evil.  Yes, there is more in that verse, but when the Lord’s Prayer is being covered in 7 weeks, you only get a little bit each week.  It was a wonderful sermon on trials and temptations and deliverance.  Or maybe it was just a timing thing for me.  Either way, I’d highly recommend it.  It should be up on the Gateway website by Monday or Tuesday.  The title of the sermon is “The Protection of Prayer” in case you come to this post after the sermon as been moved to the media section of the website.

Sometimes I look at the place God has me in my life and I don’t completely understand it.  Some days I see glimpses of what He is doing and those days I am able to rejoice.  Many days I can’t see what is in front of me and then I look back at what was and I am filled with a storm of emotions.  He has been leading me to a greater understanding of what He has for me in this time and place.  I still can’t see the future.  I still can’t see past the step He has me on…much less the very next one.  I began this journey that way and I am still trusting Him to lead me where He wants me.  I am still following Him.  Tonight was confirmation that He has it covered.  Tonight’s message gave me hope that God has not taken me to this place to abandon me.  He has brought me here for my good and the good of my family.

We were reminded of the story in John 4:1-14 where Jesus was led to the wilderness by the Holy Spirit, tempted by satan, overcame and returned from the wilderness in the power of the Holy Spirit.  Jesus was led there to succeed.  He came out better than when He went in.  He trusted God thru resistance and opposition.  He is my model for life!

Jesus gave us a model prayer.  When asked by the disciples how to pray, He included “deliver us from evil”.  I have a list of things the enemy likes to throw my way.  I have a list of things he likes to use in my life to undermine the great work that God is doing.  I have an example from Jesus of how to pray and how to be an over comer.

Thank you Lord for all that you overcame and all that you will deliver me from so that I can join you as an over comer in your Kingdom.

One thought on “Thankfully Overcoming!

  1. JW says:

    Spirit filled,powerful,energized,declared….All of these are a great way to explain worship service last night! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

