Thankful Thursday: Scrumptious Chicken Enchilada Soup

I decided last week that I didn’t want to miss anymore Thankful Thursdays because I was too busy thinking about everything except what I am thankful for.  I am thankful for the beautiful picture I posted about earlier, but that post was already in the books when I remembered it is Thursday.

So…tonight I am thankful for the scrumptious soup I just ate.  I used the Queen of Wednesday Night Bite’s recipe and added a little creole spice to kick it up a bit.  My Grandma never followed a recipe exactly and she was a great cook, so why not?  I know that because I have tried cooking from Grandma’s recipes and they never taste the same.  I don’t know if it was the ingredients or the love that made the difference, but they never taste as good as I remember them being when Grandma cooked.

I’ll post the recipe for the soup and you can try it yourself.  Or, if you are in the neighborhood of Garden Ridge and Main Street in Lewisville one Wednesday night, you might stop in and see if the cook has prepared her famous soups that night.  They are mighty tasty and the company isn’t half bad either.

Chicken Enchilada Soup – Sheri Coulter

5 cooked chicken breasts

1 large can cream of mushroom soup

1 can Ro-tel tomatoes

1 pint half-n-half

2 lb. Velveeta cheese

milk

Cut chicken into cubes.  In a saucepan, mix chicken, soup, R0-tel, half-n-half and cheese; heat through.  Add milk until desired consistency and serve.

Thanks for the recipe Chef Sheri!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

