Swept over a cliff

A picture came across Facebook today with an encouragement to look at it and see what God was saying…what He might be inviting me to….visio divina. Many times pictures will be posted which don’t really speak to me but this one did. At first only a few thoughts, but then the thoughts just kept flooding in.

The picture that came across Facebook was a view from the top of a cliff looking down into a lush green valley below.  It was posted on the Anam Cara Ministries Facebook page if you’d like to go check it out.  Besides the steep rocky terrain of the cliff was a waterfall that went from the top of the cliff all the way to the valley below.  From the view of the picture, there was only one way to the valley below and that was down…off the cliff.  The longer I looked at the waterfall in the picture, the more it occurred to me that the best way down was not to jump out over the rocks, but to take a ride on the waterfall to the fresh green valley below. I immediately thought of the verse I posted yesterday and His powerful, flowing love that would sweep me into the promise of a beautiful and bright future with Him that He has already promised and planned for me if I would just trust Him with my life and allow Him to sweep me away in Him.

Deep calls to deep
in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers
have swept over me.

By day the Lord directs his love,
at night his song is with me—
a prayer to the God of my life.

Psalm 42:7-8

For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD,  plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.

Jeremiah 29:11

For You formed my inward parts;
You wove me in my mother’s womb.
 I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Wonderful are Your works,
And my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth;
Your eyes have seen my unformed substance;
And in Your book were all written
The days that were ordained for me,
When as yet there was not one of them.

Psalm 139:13-16

Y’all should really check out Anam Cara Ministries if you haven’t already.  The lady behind the ministry is a beautiful soul who regularly posts beautiful things to usher you into  the heart of God.

Leave a Reply

