Snapshots of Heaven: Every Tongue!

 

I am about to make a confession.  I am not a huge fan of “Mission Sunday.”  I love my friends who are.  I love my friends who have a passion for Missions.  Tonight I am VERY thankful God made me curious enough about how Gateway does “Mission Sunday” that I didn’t miss it.  They don’t call it Mission Sunday.  They call it Bless!…and a blessing it was!!!  There were no special contributions…no passing the plate…no reports from the various missionaries in the field supported by Gateway.  Truth be told…there is no way they could get them all in.

There was a very special treat for this heart though!!!  The worship for this weekend is being led by worship leaders from around the world.  The energy and spirit in these people was incredible.  Their gift of leading us into the heart of worship was amazing.  It wasn’t nearly long enough…then they led one more song….The Revelation Song.

Those of you who read my blog on a regular basis know this song has a special place in my heart and life.  This night was no different.  In fact, it only added to the blessing in that song for me.  It only added to the ways God continues to use that song to speak to my heart.  Tonight He used it to make the world a little smaller for me.  He used it to plant a seed for missions into my heart…or help one grow since I’m sure they’ve been planted there before.  What that will look like…I don’t know.  He will have to show me.  Missions is such a broad thing….

Tonight I was able to imagine these verses:

After this I looked, and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. 10 And they cried out in a loud voice:

“Salvation belongs to our God,
who sits on the throne,
and to the Lamb.”

Revelation 7:9-10

Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under its wings. Day and night they never stop saying: “‘Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty,’ who was, and is, and is to come.”

Revelation 4:8

Tonight worship leaders from several different countries led The Revelation Song in their own languages.  It was…well…words can’t describe it.  It was a moment that you know you are somewhere special.  You know the angels are there with you.  You know you have been in His Presence.  I think it is very easy to imagine everyone around the Throne one day worshiping in ONE language…your own.  Surely we will all be worshiping Him in English.  Wow!  Nights like tonight shed a whole new light on what it will be like one day.  I don’t know how many different languages there are in the big round ball we live on.  I don’t know how many tribes there are.  BUT, it says we will all be there…gathered around the throne.  All there to worship the ONE!

Tonight I worshiped Him with people from just a few of those nations and it was glorious…I can only imagine when it’s all of us…all at the same time…bowed down to worship Him.   THAT is going to be some kind of celebration!

 

2 thoughts on “Snapshots of Heaven: Every Tongue!

  1. Terri Camp says:

    So glad you wrote this post! I went this morning and it was absolutely fantastic. Even with your marvelous words, it simply couldn’t compare to the experience of having the tears suddenly begin flowing down your cheeks at the mere thought of the awesomeness of God. What an experience!

Leave a Reply

