Now that really is incredible love!

A while back I wrote a post about a discovery that was new to me about the Tree of Life. It may not have been new to anyone else and it is possible it wasn’t new to me, but I had just been awakened to the revelation of it.

I had another such light bulb go off this weekend. This one had me scratching my head wondering where on earth I had been all my life. (That happens to me a lot)  What fog had a hold of me so that I never had seen this? Where was I in those bible classes in college when I was required to read the entire New Testament…uh I wonder how many people actually did all that reading? Oh to be in those classes now…

Anyways…I now recognize that Jesus was there at creation. I know he was in the Garden. I know the Tree of Life was him or a representation of him.  It never occurred to me that he was slain before any of this was ever even spoken into existence. I knew the plan for salvation was not some sort of afterthought on God’s part. I guess it never occurred to me just how much of a forethought it was. It never occurred to me he thought of it BEFORE the fall of man. It never occurred to me that He created all of this…everything in the universe…mankind…knowing the choice we would make…knowing we would fall. Knowing we would choose knowing over a perfect life with Him.

17 If you address as Father the One who impartially judges according to each one’s work, conduct yourselves in fear during the time of your stay on earth; 18 knowing that you were not [r]redeemed with perishable things like silver or gold from your futile way of life inherited from your forefathers, 19 but with precious blood, as of a lamb unblemished and spotless, the blood of Christ. 20 For He was foreknown before the foundation of the world, but has appeared [s]in these last times for the sake of you 21 who through Him are believers in God, who raised Him from the dead and gave Him glory, so that your faith and hope are in God. – 1 Peter 1:17-21

All inhabitants of the earth will worship the beast—all whose names have not been written in the Lamb’s book of life, the Lamb who was slain from the creation of the world. – Revelation 13:8

I began writing this post yesterday morning before a conversation with a friend about “knowing”.  I like to know things.  I like to know what other people know about things.  I like to know why other people know things they know.  I like to be able to explain to others why I know things.  I surely would have eaten that apple so I could know stuff.  God knew that and created us anyways.  He knew that and spoke all of this into existence.  He knew that and made a plan to redeem all of it before He ever even spoke a word to bless us.

I knew God loved me.  I knew He loved mankind so much that He was willing to sacrifice His son for us.  I knew Jesus loved us all so much he was willing to give up glory for a bit to dwell among us.  I know the Holy Spirit loves us enough to dwell in our hearts and guide and comfort us even when we deny His power.  I just never knew just how far back that love really went….now I know!  Thank you God for knowing…and doing it anyways!  Why you did?…my human mind will never know.

Leave a Reply

