Wrecked for Him

 

I’ve had one of those mornings where you realize God is doing a work in you that you didn’t ask for. It’s one of those mornings when you realize the thing He is doing is likely the direct result of something you asked Him for…but it wasn’t what you meant. It’s funny how He answers our prayers with what we need and not necessarily what we want. He is much better at knowing what is going to get us from point A to point B with Him than we are. He knows what our future holds. He knows what His future plans for us will be that He needs to prepare us for today. He knows what needs to be developed in us to enable us to serve Him in the Kingdom.

I was reading Job this morning and wonder if that isn’t why He threw him under the bus when Satan came calling. He already knew the entire story of Job’s life. He knew the lessons Job would need to learn along the way. He knew the things he would need to overcome. He also already knew his character and what he would be able to handle. I think He also knew the lessons those around Job needed to learn. He obviously knew the example all of us reading the story would need. Most of our life stories won’t end up in a book for generations to read for years to come, but they will impact those in our circles for as long as they are on this planet. Hopefully we are building a lasting legacy that will affect generations after we have gone on. Hopefully that legacy will be the one God planned for us from the beginning.

This song pretty much says it all for me today. It says how I feel about what God is doing in my life and my heart right now. I know the things I have asked Him for…the good things. I am trusting Him to do what He knows is best to get me there. It may not feel great right now, but when He puts it all back together…it will be sweet! He already promised me that.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11

 

Leave a Reply

