Treasures from the Archives

I realized the other day that if life really is a journey and every part of it is meant to prepare you for the next, then I need to take a look at what God has been saying to me to ready me for the next part of my journey.  I realized that God has been preparing me for the place I am at today over the past few years, months and even weeks.  I was reminded that I’ve been logging a good part of this journey right here on my blog, so there might just be something important I need to revisit and refresh my mind and heart on.  I recalled a conversation where I was encouraged to use my blog to process my journey.  While I hope that those who read it are encouraged and challenged in some personal way, it is a way I have chosen to make sense of much of my pondering on this journey.  I realized today that I’ve been blogging just over a year, so there is likely more than a few nuggets in here that I need to latch onto for my present walk.

After a particularly low day on the emotional roller coaster I have found myself on, I was advised to stop trying to fight against the lies creating the roller coaster of emotions and live above them.  That is when I recalled this post and decided to see what I had written that might be of benefit to me as I attempt to rise above the emotions of my current situation.  I am entering into a new season of life where I can’t see exactly what is ahead of me.  I suppose none of us can ever really see what is ahead of us, but sometimes we have a better idea than other times.  My hope is that great things are ahead for me and my family, but they are still in the future and very much unknown.  I don’t know what those things will look like.  I don’t know what my part to play will be.  Sure, I know what my part to play at home will be, but beyond that, I don’t know and I very much want to, but I can’t.

I can sit down and wallow in the unknown.  I can pout about being in an “in between” place.  I can spiral into a pit of despair.  I can play patty cake with these dumb emotions.  OR, I can allow the strength that is within me to rise up and carry me to a place that I am already seated with HIM and allow him to work out all the details down here.  That is how I can rise above the emotions…seated right there with HIM.  Truly allowing HIM to work this all out while I simply rest and relax knowing he already has it all worked out if I will just keep following him and seeking Him and choosing to trust him.

4 But God, being  rich in mercy, because of  His great love with which He loved us, 5 even when we were  dead [a]in our transgressions, made us alive together [b]with Christ ( by grace you have been saved), 6 and  raised us up with Him, and  seated us with Him in  the heavenly places in  Christ Jesus, 7 so that in the ages to come He might show the surpassing  riches of His grace in  kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. – Ephesians 2:4-7

Leave a Reply

