A bit argumentative

“The apple doesn’t fall to far from the tree”

“She’s a chip off the old block”

“Like mother like daughter”

“She is her parent’s daughter”

“She could argue with a fence post”

Do any of those sound the least bit familiar to you?  Do any of those make you go, UGH?  Do any of them sound true?

We have a bit of an arguing problem going on in my house at the moment.  I suppose anyone with tween/teenagers under their roof could say that.  Maybe anyone with a human being under their roof could say that.  And, yes, I’m talking about THEM, but I’m really talking about ME right now.  I tell the girls all the time, “It takes two to argue.”  Well…..  I should know…. I’m pretty darned good at it myself!

As it turns out God is trying to get my attention about this subject.  Within 2 days He has shown me an example of two very important people in my spiritual life who engage in arguing with Him over matters in their lives.  These are people He has placed in my life during a season of growing in Him and learning to recognize His voice.  These are people who I KNOW walk with Him and discuss every move in their spiritual walks with Him.  I don’t know for sure why He thought it was important in these past few days for me to know that about them.  I already did know that, but I don’t know why He decided to highlight it the way He did. 

Well, maybe I do know.  Maybe it is because I’ve been engaged in my own brand of arguing with Him about a matter for a good long while now.  I may think it isn’t arguing.  I may even argue that I’m not arguing.  Hey!  I know what that looks like.  I’ve argued with more than one of my daughters about whether or not they were arguing.  :/ 

So what does arguing with God look like in my world?  If it takes two to argue, does God argue?  Well, if He is trying to get me to listen, if He loves me and knows what is best for me, I think He does.  I think He just does it in a much more efficient way that looks absolutely nothing like how I argue with my kids in a moment of sheer frustration and powerlessness.  His “arguing” back with me is about loving persistence.  He loves me.  He knows what is best for me.  He knows what is around the corner that I can’t see or refuse to see.  He doesn’t stop until I bend, or break, to His will for my life because He knows best even when I don’t.  He knows there is more to my walk with Him than meets the eye and He knows how I can get it.  He knows where I can get it.  He knows whether or not what I am doing will get me there.

I’ve been in a circle with Him on a subject long enough that I know He must be growing weary of arguing with me about it.  I know He must be shaking His head at me.  I know He must want to lash out impatiently at me.  Thankfully He hasn’t done that, YET.  Thankfully He just keeps taking me back to the same place.  Thankfully He is more persistent than I am.  This thing I’m arguing with Him about must be awfully important to Him.  It must make a huge difference in my walk with Him.  The implications of me following Him into it, or not, must be huge or He would have given up a long time ago.  He would have allowed me to find peace in my own way.  He would have allowed me to be content within my own arguments.

Uh, He is bigger than me.  He sees more than I can see.  He knows more than I can know.  He loves me more than I love myself.  He loves my peeps more than I love them.  He’s got it ALL under control.

Maybe it’s time for me to just submit to Him and stop arguing about this thing.

2 thoughts on “A bit argumentative

  1. lammilee says:

    I have respectful arguments with Him all the time. I think He likes for us to just be where we are….it’s more honest…..it’s also more argumentative. He knows it’s how I process things to come to a conclusion or decision. He waits for me…..and when I get there, and I’m all excited because I finally see it….and the argument is over….and I excitedly tell Him what He already knows….He smiles. 🙂

  2. Lisa says:

    Actually, He isn’t the least bit tempted to lash out impatiently at you. He doesn’t have any flesh to drive any unrighteous responses, and He’s not threatened by the bull-headedness of a human. 🙂

Leave a Reply

