Why is that path so worn down?

I find myself wanting to walk down nice clear, smooth pathways. That seems to be the one my mind can wrap itself around right now. The one it’s on. The one it’s already travelled before. The one cleared from debris and hazards….or so I think.

But is that what Kingdom living should look like? Is that what a life sold out to Him should look like? Is that what a fully surrendered life holds for me? Is that what Seeking after Him and growing in all He has really means? Status Quo? Life as usual? Life on a well-worn path?

What if the path is well-worn because it was easy? What if it is well-worn because it was familiar? What if it is well-worn because of wounds left unhealed? What if it is well-worn because of brokenness that kept you on a path you were only meant to travel once but kept circling back around to? What if it is worn because you never saw the other road before? What if it is worn because fear was standing in the way of the other path? What if it is worn because you had misplaced trust?

You don’t have to read much in the bible to see that Kingdom living isn’t about smooth, well-worn, well established pathways for people to walk down. The new paths were much easier to travel when trust was placed in Him, but they were far from the traveled course. They were far from the course they were already on.

What if the path is easy and passable in one season but not another? What if the elements of the changing season makes the current smooth, cleared path treacherous and impassable?

Lord, lead me down the paths that lead me closer to you. Keep my feet steady on unsteady terrain. Shine your light brightly so I will see the new path you have set before me. I want to walk in new places with you. I want to walk in the places that YOU are clearing. I want to walk on the paths cleared by you for the season I am in.

One thought on “Why is that path so worn down?

  1. Joann says:

    You want to have hind’s feet to take you to high places. That is a beautiful desire.

Leave a Reply

