Multiple Frequencies

One day we were eating lunch out with our life group and I heard a shrill sound that made me just want to cover my ears and jump under the table. Make it stop!! One of the guys in our lifegroup had one of those apps on his phone where you can test your hearing for different frequencies. I HEARD that one for sure!

Right now I’m trying to learn to hear a different sound. The sound of my Savior’s voice.

“Let me set this before you as plainly as I can. If a person climbs over or through the fence of a sheep pen instead of going through the gate, you know he’s up to no good—a sheep rustler! The shepherd walks right up to the gate. The gatekeeper opens the gate to him and the sheep recognize his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he gets them all out, he leads them and they follow because they are familiar with his voice. They won’t follow a stranger’s voice but will scatter because they aren’t used to the sound of it.” – John 10:1-5 (MSG)

I want to recognize that voice in everything I do. I want to be able to hear it on every frequency. I want it to be such a comforting sound that I would never want to run and hide from it. I want to recognize His gentle whispers in my ear. I want to be so tuned in to Him that nothing else drowns Him out.

The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. 12 After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. 13 When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.

Then a voice said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” – 1 Kings 19:11-13(NIV)

I also want to know He is doing more than whispering in my life. Sometimes I don’t hear to well, or I’m not listening or paying attention. I need to know even then He won’t leave me, He won’t give up on me. He will keep talking until He has reached me and found the frequency I’m able to hear with at the time. Sometimes I just can’t hear the whisper even though I desperately want to. It is in those times I want to tune my hearing to the thundering voice of God.

1 Ascribe to the Lord, you heavenly beings,
ascribe to the Lord glory and strength.
2 Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name;
worship the Lord in the splendor of his[a]holiness.

3 The voice of the Lord is over the waters;
the God of glory thunders,
the Lord thunders over the mighty waters.
4 The voice of the Lord is powerful;
the voice of the Lord is majestic.
5 The voice of the Lord breaks the cedars;
the Lord breaks in pieces the cedars of Lebanon.
6 He makes Lebanon leap like a calf,
Sirion[b] like a young wild ox.
7 The voice of the Lord strikes
with flashes of lightning.
8 The voice of the Lord shakes the desert;
the Lord shakes the Desert of Kadesh.
9 The voice of the Lord twists the oaks[c]
and strips the forests bare.
And in his temple all cry, “Glory!”

10 The Lord sits enthroned over the flood;
the Lord is enthroned as King forever.
11 The Lord gives strength to his people;
the Lord blesses his people with peace. – Psalms 29 (NIV)

Lord, please speak to me in whatever pitch is necessary for me to hear you. I’d prefer the gentle whisper Lord, but if I’m not listening, please put me under the table so I never miss YOU!!

One thought on “Multiple Frequencies

  1. Joann says:

    I am amazed how God speaks to me through you my friend! This was beautiful!

Leave a Reply

