Equal is sweet, but it’s not sugar!

Have you ever stopped to wonder what you might be substituting for a personal relationship with God? What keeps you in the boat when He is on the water offering you His hand? What is it in the boat that feels so safe and secure that you’d give up a chance to walk on water with the Savior of the Universe?

I used to just think about this type of question in terms of the worldly things we choose as substitutes for Him. These days I’ve been thinking about it in terms of more “spiritual” things we choose over a relationship with Him without even realizing that is what we are doing.

I’m not saying any of these things I’m about to list are bad. In fact, they are all very good.  They are all an important part of my spiritual walk.

But I’ve been wondering. Is my church family more important to me than my relationship with Him? Is my tradition more important to me than my relationship with Him? Do I ever substitute a good book on spiritual things for my relationship with Him? Do I really worship Him when I’m singing to my favorite Christian music or is it just the catchy music that just happens to have Christian lyrics that I’m singing?  Do I ever substitute a good spiritual conversation with my peeps for a good conversation with Him? 

I would sure hate to get to the end of this journey and look back and realize I hadn’t held His hand.  I’d hate to look back at my list of bible studies and books and podcasts and not be able to tell you what He had said to me.  I’d hate to think I could tell you exactly what my friends voices sound like and not have a clue what His voice sounds like.  I’d hate to collect a whole iPod full of Christian music and never sing it to Him.

I think it’s so easy to look at Peter and criticize Him for failing to keep His eyes on Jesus when he stepped out of that boat.  Uh, he did leave the safety of the boat and jump in the water.  He did go after Jesus.

 

 

 

One thought on “Equal is sweet, but it’s not sugar!

  1. lammilee says:

    Amen, sister!!! It’s when we reach for more of Him that we are pleasantly surprised with our boat being “rocked!” The next step after that….stepping out!

Leave a Reply

