Thankful Thursday: Fireproof Shield

Today I was thinking about the armor of God because I feel like I’m being smacked around right now. It feels like everywhere I turn something is being thrown at me. I wanted to see what I need to counteract this stuff. I wanted to see what I have in my arsenal to fight back.

This turned into an unintentional Lectio Divina of Ephesians 6:10-18. That’s a big fancy term for “see what God has for you personally when you read a passage of scripture”. So the thing that stuck out was the shield of faith. I immediately wanted to jump behind that shield. I wanted to gather up all my peeps and all their shields and just have a big gathering of shield bearers. I think some days we are called to fight and some days we are called to stand down with the shield held high to protect us. Or maybe some days I just don’t have any fight in me and the enemy’s not about to give me a break and God’s given me protection even in those times. “Just raise your shield.”

Then I started thinking about faith and what all it does. Just a little bitty tiny bit is enough to move mountains. How much is needed to shield us from arrows? A whole shields worth.

A few days ago I was thinking about how much faith we need for what God has for us. This makes me wonder if we are talking about the same faith. Is the faith to move mountains and the faith to shield us from the enemies fiery arrows the same faith?

Maybe faith is like a transformer. It takes whatever shape you need it to for the place you find yourself in. Maybe that little mustard seed’s worth transforms into a big super size shield-shaped mega mustard seed with fire-retardant properties.  Hmmm!  Maybe we imagine those fiery darts from the enemy bigger and with more power than we should this side of the cross.

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: Fireproof Shield

  1. Victoria says:

    Love this! Transforming Faith….hmmmm….you’re on to something! 🙂 At least we know that the enemy’s arrows have those little sucker things instead of arrows and bounce right off of us when God is our shield!

Leave a Reply

