Do you really need more of that?

I’ve been listening to a series by Graham Cooke, The Practice of Rest. It has been rich with lessons I’ve needed in my walk with Him. God has been using it to teach me things I need to know about rest and so much more. It’s not about getting more sleep. It’s not about sleeping more hours a night or taking more naps. That part was actually a bummer. I was sure there was going to be a scripture or two I hadn’t heard of about the benefits of napping. Rest is so much more than just taking a break.

Have you ever prayed for greater faith? I have. Especially on days when I fall short. Especially when I stumble and fail to live out of the faith I have. Especially when I allow unbelief and doubt and fear to take up more space in my life than the faith He has placed inside my heart. If I just had more faith…

Really? Is that what I need?

I want to move mountains in my life and the lives of those around me. I want to be a part of a bigger story. I want to be used in mighty ways by Him. I want to see my girls come to a vibrant faith and life in Him. I want to see Him work miracles. Real life, mind-blowing, unexplainable, life changing miracles. Miracles of physical, mental, emotional and spiritual healing that no one dared to ask or believe for. I want to see people set free from all the things that hold them back from an abundant life with Him. These are big dreams that surely require BIG faith….right? Big, bold faith! Over the top loud and active faith. Big program faith. Public displays of affection faith.

Uh…

Faith that can move mountains…mustard seed.

Faith that healed a woman who’d been bleeding for years…quietly touching the hem of His robe.

Faith that healed a daughter…the Mom just asked.

Doesn’t look like rocket science or acrobatics or big and flashy to me. Looks like quiet, trusting asking and believing faith. Looks like peaceful assurance that you’ve gone to the Creator of the Universe and trusted Him to do the rest. Looks to me like recognizing Who is actually fulfilling the promises. Looks like resting in Who He is.

19 Then the disciples came to Jesus in private and asked, “Why couldn’t we drive it out?”20 He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move.  Nothing will be impossible for you.”  Matthew 17:19-20

12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.  John 14:12-14

2 thoughts on “Do you really need more of that?

  1. lammilee says:

    You’re right, Laurie. It really is so simple that we miss it! Rest….the opposite of work. Hmmmmm……we do have a hard time with doing NOTHING, don’t we? And yet, He says, “Be still…..and know that I AM GOD!” Kind of a dead give-a-way as to WHOSE work accomplishes much and moves the mountain. To me, the little mustard seed of faith, is our agreement WITH His Heart….and then stepping aside and watching Him do it! It takes a long time for REST to finally dawn on us, huh? I still need the daily reminder(s)…..so glad He is long suffering….. 🙂 But oh…..when I enter into true REST…….we wonder why it took us so long…..’cause WOW!

    • Laurie Wade says:

      Yup! I’m pretty stubborn myself. Learning to rest when you’ve been conditioned to work takes a while. Learning what rest really means takes longer.

Leave a Reply

