Music Monday: Rejoicing in Chaos!

I was blessed this past weekend to attend a conference focused on the presence of God. I left with a lot to ponder. I left with an extra measure of joy. I left with a deeper love for Him and what He is doing in my life and the lives of those around me. I left with a desire to keep seeking more of Him.

With any attempt to draw closer to the heart of God comes a desire by the enemy to stop you. The enemy knows exactly which buttons to push and made sure to strategically push those buttons from the start. I have to admit he even used my own hand to push one or two of them. BUT, greater is He who is in me than he who is in the world!!!!

I’ll be sharing some of my ponderings over the coming days and weeks. I have much that I want to study and sit on with God for a bit. I have pages and pages of notes to go back to and allow to simmer and percolate. I got what I was hoping out of the conference and MUCH more.

Today I wanted to share a little hope that I received. I wanted to share a small piece of the message that infused a bit of hope and peace into my heart. I want to share it with you because I know many of you who read my blog might find a bit of hope and peace in the message for yourselves. I know you have your own seasons of chaos going on, or will at some point in the future. It’s just a part of life.

I am not a fan of chaos. Really, who is? Yet, life seems to dole it out on occasion. Sometimes it may even seem like it’s a pretty steady, ongoing stream. I see plenty of it when I look around and many days I struggle with what to do with hit. I struggle with what I can do to stop it. Chaos of any sort seems to feed some pretty bad habits in me. So, I’d do just about anything to CONTROL the chaos whether it is mine to control or not. It goes like this more times that I’d like to admit:

Chaos
Try to fix
Chaos
Pray
Try to fix

You notice wait for the answer to the prayer wasn’t in that last one. I’m working on changing that, but I’m not there yet.

But, I was given a whole new perspective on chaos this weekend. What if it is actually necessary? What if there is actually purpose in the chaos? What if it is being used to move you from one place to another?  What if you have to move thru chaos in order to get to something new?  What if He uses the chaos to remove the old thing to make way for the new thing?  What if that is how He motivates you to leave the old for the new?  That is how it was presented using Isaiah 43:19.  The point was made that any time God says He is doing a new thing, chaos is coming to destroy the old thing so that you don’t return to it.  I think He is a God of choice, but I can definitely see some parallels in the Bible to this idea.  How chaotic must it have been to leave Egypt and wander around in the wilderness for 40 years?  How chaotic was it when Jesus was born?  How chaotic was it right before Jesus died and was resurrected?  The bible paints a pretty chaotic picture of the world right before Jesus returns.

I’m still pondering this, but thought it had enough merit to share.  You can ponder from here.  As for me, I’ve got a fresh perspective on the areas of chaos in my life and am going to be looking for the “new” that God has planned on the other side.  I’m going to be looking forward to the beautiful He may have planned!  I’m going to rest more in the chaos knowing that He is with me and will bring me thru.  There is a new day coming!

Leave a Reply

