A more positive atmosphere…don’t you think?

Hmmm! I was recently given some advice that could actually change my life. It could actually change the lives of my children and my husband. It could change the atmosphere around me in such a dramatic way that there might be no end to what it could change.

I’m sure I’ve heard the advice before. It’s not really new, but this time it seems to have taken a firmer grip in my thinking. This time I’ve actually filtered a conversation or two thru it. This time I’ve actually filtered a prayer or two thru it. This time I’ve spent a bit more time pondering it and how it might affect my day-to-day circumstances if I really chose to live it.

The advice was to focus more on God’s strength than my weakness. He will deal with the weakness. He already knows what my weaknesses are so there is really no need for me to dwell on them. I need His strength more than I need more wallowing in my weakness. He already knows what needs to be done in my life to move me out of that place of weakness and into His strength. Why spend your time wallowing around in that pit when He has already provided a way out.  Or what if, like in the following verses, He chooses to leave me in my weaknesses.  There is still no reason to focus on them because it’s not about them.  It’s about His strength!!

5 I will boast about a man like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. 6 Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, 7 or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.  –  2 Corinthians 12:5-10
 
I love that His grace is sufficient.  I’m thankful that His grace is sufficient in spite of my weakness.  I’m thankful that I don’t have to be perfect to merit His all-sufficient grace.  What would be the point of that?  I’m thankful that He has a plan for my life that includes whatever weaknesses He chooses to redeem or allows me to live with.  I think I’ll get about the life of seeking His face and looking to His strength and His promises for me, my family and all my circumstances.
One thought on “A more positive atmosphere…don’t you think?

  1. Lisa says:

    Good stuff, Maynard. 🙂

Leave a Reply

