One at a time!

My friend over at Hey Sparky! is raising funds this year for International Justice Mission thru Project Jubilee. These funds will be used to free someone from human trafficking.

A few days ago she posted a blog about how big the needs of our world are. There are so many different areas of need it almost feels hopeless. It feels too big to tackle. The impact feels so small in comparison to the millions in need of one form of freedom or another.

Last week I heard Heidi Baker speak. She is a missionary in Mozambique who serves orphans who are dying on the streets from disease and starvation.  Another daunting task. I’ve been reading her book, Always Enough, which highlights her work among some of the poorest and most destitute children on earth. I recently watched Heidi’s testimony and was touched by the obvious love she has for the One she serves. You could see it in her eyes and on her face. She has seen God do some amazing things in that country…miraculous things. She has seen a group of people hungry for God in a way most of us living in the West haven’t ever seen. They aren’t just hungry for food, they are hungry for God’s word. Two types of hunger I’m not sure many people in America really know. She tells stories of people passing up relief food for prayer and bible tracts. These aren’t people who have plenty to eat either.

So, what does a lady like this preach to Americans when she gets a chance? What message does she tell Christians who have grown comfortable in their pews? What does she tell those whose attention span is much shorter than the people hungry for God that she is used to ministering to on a daily basis? What does someone in the trenches choose to share with those who live mostly on the sidelines?

I got to hear her preach twice and both times she preached out of the book of John. Both times she chose stories about Jesus. Both times she chose a story about a Samaritan.  Her point in both sermons was that Jesus got low to serve the person directly in front of Him.  At least that was my take away from the day.  That was the message the Spirit needed me to hear.  She talked about Jesus getting down low to wash people’s feet.  She talked about Him looking people in the eyes that He was ministering to and serving.  She talked about Him being hands on with the person right in front of Him.  She talked about how He talked one on one and met the Samaritan women at the well right where she was in the middle of her circumstances.  She shared the story of the Good Samaritan and applied it to how we tend to do things in our churches that look an awful lot like the people who passed on by.

Several weeks ago during church I was bothered by a song that is a classic hymn sung in many churches, There’s Not a Friend Like the Lowly Jesus.  It just struck me wrong that day.  I wondered why we were singing about a lowly Jesus when He is seated on the throne.  All I could think of when we sang that song was the definition, low in status, and that really bothered me.  I think God helped me look at that song a new way.  Well, probably not new for everyone else that loves the song, but in a way I was missing. 

I love that God would send a missionary from Mozambique to speak to me about a song I was pondering.  No, she didn’t even mention that song, but she did spend a good deal of her time talking about the Jesus who took the low place for us to show us love.  I love that He would send a missionary from Mozambique to America to teach us how to reach a dying world, one personal encounter at a time.  She has seen human NEED up close and personal.  My first question to her if I could ask would be, “How do you not get discouraged when you see so much need?”  Read her book and I think you’ll find the answer to that question.  I think she’d tell me Jesus died so there would always be enough.

 

One thought on “One at a time!

  1. Lisa says:

    Every time I hear her I am both challenged and encouraged. I think it’s easy to think her life is grand and shiny, but in reality I’m sure she is hot, sweaty, exhausted, and poured-out almost all the time. And yet, she lives that life with joy and excitement and passion. I love that.

Leave a Reply

