Just don’t try this in the microwave! It’s not good to heat plastic that way! ;)

After much back and forth because of the weatherman and their forecasting which seems to change almost hourly, we have landed on camping for Spring Break. Now the fun begins! The meal planning without the help of a drive thru. I’ve wondered if my fellow campers would help me out in that area and let me just stop by their site for my meals. I’m pretty sure since the email has already gone out about what we will eat at night, that means I’m required to bring those ingredients for my family.

So, I need to get off this computer and go work on some lists to get ready for this trip that begins tomorrow. They didn’t specify more than one of the meals we will be eating together, so I must get busy so my family gets to eat at others times too! I know how you all anxiously await recipes from this site, so here is our favorite thing to cook for breakfast on the last day of camp when all we want to do is clean up our site, pack up the tent and get home to a hot shower. We love a hot breakfast every day we camp, so a bag of powder donuts just won’t cut it.

No, we won’t be going anywhere as wonderfully cold as the place on this video, but I thought it would be fun for you to get a play-by-play of this delightful recipe in action.

Warning: Those bags get hot and I have no idea how those guys touched them without burning their hands off. Trust me, I learned that the hard way.

2 thoughts on “Just don’t try this in the microwave! It’s not good to heat plastic that way! ;)

  1. Candy says:

    That was cool! Love that idea! I’m sure you already have ‘Campfire Meals’ on your menu, but we used to do these all the time, for an easy, tasty, quick cleanup meal. Have coals

    Using heavy duty tin foil (the thin stuff doesn’t hold up), spray the surface of the foil, liberally with Olive Oil, then pile in whatever mix sounds the yummiest to you of these 3 staples to make individualized packets to set in among the white hot coals in a fire pit or campfire. Usually took around 30 min.

    Meat: chicken, cut up country ribs, beef tips, ground beef, ground turkey, sausage links, kielbasa, hot dogs….etc.
    Veggies: Potatoes, carrots, parsnips, rutabaga, turnips, corn (on the cob but cut up in 1-1/2 sections), onions, garlic, shallots, mushrooms, etc.
    Seasonings: Sea salt, cracked pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, basil, oregano, etc.

    Dot with 2 T. real butter……bring corners of foil to center, twist like a Hershey Kiss…..nestle in the coals. Wait 25-35 min.

    Variation: In 2 gallon zip-lock bag…..put in 1/2 c. Olive Oil, and 2 packets of Hidden Vally Ranch dry mix……add veggies and cut up meat…….shake to coat well……fill foil packs….nestle in hot coals.

    Enjoy your camping!

Leave a Reply

