The little engine that could….stop….worrying!!!

6-7Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life. – Philippians 4:6-7 (MSG)

I feel like the engine that could today when I read this verse. Actually, I feel like the engine that could a lot lately. I think I can…I think I can…  This was the verse that popped up on my Jesus Calling app this morning.  Funny how often those things are just what I needed to hear that very day!  Funny how many different areas of focus there are in these two verses.  Interesting how they match up so well with what I’ve been contemplating and need.

I do not want to fret. I do not want to worry. I do not want to spiral downward into a sea of what if scenarios. I do not want to create a crisis in my imagination that is bigger than the truth of a matter. I do not want to create an image in my head of a situation that becomes bigger than God can possibly handle, according to my imagination. Worrying and fretting tends to take me to those places in a split second.  They take my focus off the One who CAN help and put them on the one who is the problem.

So I’ll just keep reminding that engine to keep on trucking…keep on trusting…keep on believing…keep on praying…keep on moving up that mountain. 

Perhaps there is a bit to learn about how to pray in these times that I would miss otherwise. I’ll hang my hat on that when I am tempted to give up the praying and start-up the fretting. I’ll hang my hat on the peace that is offered in the middle of this scripture and go for it with gusto.

One thought on “The little engine that could….stop….worrying!!!

  1. Joann says:

    Amen and Praise be to God for planting that wisdom in your heart, the One who started the good work in you will be faithful to complete it!!

Leave a Reply

