No rest for the weary…or is there?

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

I’ve got alot that is making me weary and burdened right now because I have no answers. They are all things out of my control yet within my sphere of influence. I suppose there are many things within my sphere of influence that I am responsible for and many that I am not, but they all tend to weigh on me.

I don’t know about the other parents out there, but frankly, sometimes parenting feels a bit heavy to me. God has given me these kids and He knew exactly what I would be dealing with as the years go by, but I often feel one step behind where I need to be. That doesn’t feel easy or light. It makes me wonder if I’m here because I wasn’t paying attention to something He was trying to teach me for this season that would have made this time easy and light. Or, does the easy and light come after the learning and I’m just not there yet. Or, does it feel heavier and more burdensome that it really is because I’ve taken on part of the load that He was meant to be carrying.

I’ll just leave the pondering at parenting for tonight….but it’s not the only area I could apply tonights pondering to. I want to cling to the promise in this verse. I want it to be true. I want it to apply to every area in my life. I want to feel the implications of this verse deep down in my soul.

For tonight I’ll take my parenting questions to the One who has promised to teach me. He did say I will learn from Him.

Let’s hear it for quick learning…Please!!

One thought on “No rest for the weary…or is there?

  1. Sheri says:

    Sending prayers that easy and light come your way in whatever areas it can so that you have the energy to battle these areas that are more difficult.

Leave a Reply

