7 days ’til stockings…

Here it is 7 days until Christmas and I am still searching for the perfect gifts to wrap up my shopping.  It’s not that I don’t have something in my closet hiding out waiting to be wrapped for every member of my family.  It’s that I haven’t found just the right thing to finish it up.  I don’t have just the right gift that says, that’s it, your shopping is complete.  I envy my peeps who have been finished shopping for weeks.  I envy those peeps who do their shopping all year-long and are likely now shopping sales for the next years Christmas morning celebration.  I’ve never been able to do that.  If I started shopping any earlier, I still wouldn’t be finished because I’d want to keep going.  The truth is, I love buying gifts for my family peeps and once I get started, I don’t want to stop.  I must stop, but I don’t want to.  I can think of several things I’d like to run out right now and get if the Christmas budget would just hold it.

I love watching them open presents on Christmas morning.  I love seeing their eyes light up when they get something they really wanted.  I love seeing the twinkle in their eyes when they get something they never asked for, but are really glad they got.  In fact, those seem to be the presents they cherish the most.  The ones they didn’t think to ask for, but are really glad someone thought to get them.  Emily has actually started asking me to surprise her.  In fact, this year, both girls have expressed that one of their favorite things about Christmas morning is their stocking.  They like it because it is filled with stuff that neither of them asked for.  It is filled with all sorts of little surprises.  There is never anything big or expensive in the stocking, but it’s all little extras.  They know the secret about Santa, yet they are still talking about what they want from him.  I love that they are indulging me and allowing the fun to continue.

Maybe instead of more gifts, I should go buy bigger stockings and continue searching for the unique, inexpensive surprises to fill them with and forget anymore presents for under the tree….

And yes, that is Stanley…our shelf frog!!

Leave a Reply

