Thankful Thursday: Big Fat Zero!

Three years ago Justin was diagnosed with thyroid cancer.  After a couple of needle biopsies and sonograms, it was determined that the best course of action would be to remove the thyroid.  So, one morning in December three years ago, I sat in a surgery waiting room with some of my friends and Justin went in to have his thyroid removed.  I was very antsy.  I had his wedding ring and played with it constantly for the 4 or more hours the surgery took.  I don’t remember exactly how long it was, I just remember it was longer than planned and that was a bit nerve-wracking.  It was awesome to have friends surrounding me to keep my mind somewhat occupied.  I had made the mistake of looking up pictures of the surgery on the internet a couple of days before.  Don’t ever do that to yourself.  It is really not something you want to imagine when you fella is in surgery and you are sitting in the waiting room.

Today we are celebrating!!  Justin scored a 0 on a test today! The 0 means the thyroid cancer he had 3 years ago is gone! In the doctors words, “There is a 99.9% chance that this cancer will never return.” That rounds up to 100% in anyone’s calculator!!  I have always felt we would not be revisiting that nightmare.  Apparently, until today’s results, the doctor was not as positive as me.  He told Justin that based on his results from the same test a year ago, there had been a moderate chance of it returning.  I’m glad he didn’t tell us that last year.  I’m glad he kept those thoughts to himself.  I’m thankful for the 99.9% and for a doctor who chose not to speak any negativity into the situation. 

My handsome fella has never been so happy to score a zero on a test!!

 

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Big Fat Zero!

  1. Sheri says:

    That is awesome news!!!! I am SOOOO glad for you and Justin!!

  2. lammilee says:

    Oh Laurie…..what wonderful news!!! I know that I am just in the beginning stages of getting to know who you are…..but this was such a great report that I stood up and danced a ‘happy’ jig! I can’t imagine how the two of you must feel! I rejoice with you both with my whole heart…..and a happy dance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

