Peace? Oh!! That’s what you were trying to say!!

The word of the day has been PEACE.  No, not because I have felt peaceful.  I haven’t.  I have a lot going on in this brain of mine today.  I’m trying to slow down the pondering, worrying, fretting, panicking brain waves, but they are pretty active today.  I’ve tried to crank up the praise and worship music to try to drown out the noise, but that isn’t working.  I don’t think they make speakers that play that loud.  I’m not sure it would be good for my ears even if they did.  I’ve tried all the things my peeps would suggest…renounce…cut ties…don’t give that thing an audience…The harder I have tried to shut these overstimulated brain waves down, the faster they have spun.

Then, I took a breath…

Once I took that breath, I realized that God has been pointing me towards “peace” all day.  He’s funny like that.  He is very persistent with me.  I like that about Him!  He had a message of peace for me in some reading I did first thing this morning.  He had a message of peace for me in an app I have on my phone that I read every day.  There have been messages of peace in songs and on FB.  I tuned in to one of my favorite speakers to listen to a message on a different subject and right in the middle of it was a whole section on peace.

I decided to look up “peace” on Biblegateway and found this verse, “You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.” Isaiah 26:3 

Right there was the thing He needed me to see…TRUST ME!!!  I want peace that passes understanding.  I want peace that is bigger than all these things running through my mind.  I want peace that will quiet the noise.  I’ll have to trust Him with all of it if I am to ever find the peace He wants me to have.  I can’t get it by “doing” anything else.

I posted an Amy Grant song yesterday and today, this one came to mind as I was pondering peace.  It brought a smile to my face and a sense of peace to my soul.  I thought you might enjoy listening to it.

2 thoughts on “Peace? Oh!! That’s what you were trying to say!!

  1. Lisa says:

    Funny how many ways He can say a thing, and will KEEP saying it until it sinks in and we realize that we’d been hearing Him all along…it’s just that we weren’t quite LISTENING… 🙂

Leave a Reply

