Looking forward to a different focus!

I am looking more forward to this Christmas season than I have in a long time.  It’s not that I don’t like Christmas, but it can be a very stressful time for me.  I am doing something this year, that I think is going to make it a great season for me.  A book was recently recommended by a fellow blogger to go along with Advent.  The only thing I know about Advent is that they make little calendars where you can peel back a piece of paper and get a different piece of chocolate each day.  Well, maybe I know a tad bit more, but not really a whole lot.

I was not raised in a church that celebrated Christmas for the “religious” aspects of it.  Sure, we decorated the house and participated in the giving and receiving, but the celebration of Christ’s birth was not really a part of our Christmas celebrations while growing up.  At least not to the extent that some celebrate Christmas.  We didn’t have nativity scenes in our decorations.  Yes, we believed in the virgin birth, we just didn’t recognize Christmas as his official birthday like so many other people do.

As an adult, I now love my nativity scenes and the focus this time of year brings to the birth of Christ.  I think it is awesome that much of the world comes together to recognize Him and what His life meant to us.  We still get caught up in the material aspects of the holiday.  Who doesn’t enjoy giving and receiving those specially wrapped gifts under the tree on Christmas morning, or whenever it is you sneak a peek! 😉

This year, I have decided to join in the celebration of Advent to some extent.  My blogging friend recommended “God with Us:  Rediscovering the Meaning of Christmas” and I bought a copy and am looking forward to reading through it from now until Christmas.  I’m looking forward to this new focus for me during this otherwise hectic and stressful time of year.

Leave a Reply

