It wasn’t a retreat, but He was all over it!

Romans 12:2 “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.”

Did you ever have a day or a week or weekend that you just felt like God was all over? I had one of those this weekend. It felt like a retreat weekend, although it wasn’t. There were definitely some retreating aspects to it…Ladies Day…alone time… I think I like unplanned “retreat” weekends. If I get to feel His presence in my weekend like I did this past weekend, I LOVE THEM!!

I realize He is always with us and His Spirit lives inside of me, so He is always with me, but this weekend, I felt a very strong sense of Him being with me. I don’t always feel Him there that strongly. It was a wonderful feeling and somehow unsettling if I am being honest. I kept finding myself trying to find a reason for it rather than just enjoying it. I found myself over analysing it instead of just going with it.

I found out on Friday that I would have a big chunk of the weekend all to myself. Emily was headed to her first Middle School retreat at church and Justin and Gracie made plans to go to my in-laws on Saturday. I had a Ladies Day at church I wanted to attend, so I stayed home. I thought at first that the strong sense of His presence that I was feeling had to do with Emily’s retreat. She was on my heart and mind and I was praying for them to have a great weekend with God.

One of the messages Saturday at the Ladies Day centered on our thoughts and how we need to be thinking His thoughts and fighting those thoughts that come into our mind that are not from Him. There was a lot more to it than that, but that was the basic message I needed to hear. I need to think God’s promises. I need to know who He says I am and then apply that to my thinking. I can test my thoughts against the fruits of the Spirit. If they don’t line up with them, then they are for sure not from Him and need to be banished. There were other underlying messages the Spirit had for me within the event that made me smile on the inside. They made me thankful and even more aware of His presence.

So, after the event was over, I got to spend the rest of the day alone. I decided I wanted to watch a movie, but I really didn’t want to waste the time I had alone. I knew I had the makings of a solo retreat and was still feeling the sense of His presence very strongly. I had the prime opportunity to spend some alone time with Him. So, I got a couple of movie recommendations and settled on The Matrix since I was told it was a good one to watch with spiritual eyes. I love movies that have a deeper meaning than initially meets the eye. Yes, I’m a little behind, it came out in 1999 and I’ve never seen it. Hey, I just watched the LOR trilogy this past summer, another great one to watch with your spiritual eyes wide open.

I loved The Matrix. I’m still pondering it and all of the deep meaning hidden in it. I’m still pondering what was in it that God wants me to take in and allow to change me. There was a lot in there that stirred me. These are a sampling of the quotes that seemed to speak something to me:

Morpheus: I’m trying to free your mind, Neo. But I can only show you the door. You’re the one that has to walk through it.

Morpheus: There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path.

Neo: Why do my eyes hurt?
Morpheus: You’ve never used them before.

Neo: What are you trying to tell me? That I can dodge bullets?
Morpheus: No, Neo. I’m trying to tell you that when you’re ready, you won’t have to.

Morpheus: You have to let it all go, Neo. Fear, doubt, and disbelief. Free your mind.

Trinity: What’s he doing?
Morpheus: He’s beginning to believe.

There is so much in those 6 quotes. I don’t know if you’ve seen the movie. I don’t know if these quotes mean anything to you or not. I don’t know if there are other quotes in the movie that meant more to you than these, but these stir something inside me to wake up. They stir something inside me to do more than talk the talk. They stir something inside me to fight to overcome the fears, doubt and disbelief that sometimes plague me. They stir me to open my eyes to a world that we cannot see that is at war to define who we are. A world at war for our thoughts and our souls.

In reading back over this and pondering the weekend and the past few months, it seems that He’s had an awful lot to say about my mind and what’s in it. I am glad He gave me this weekend. I am thankful for how He spoke to me. I am thankful for His timing.

One thought on “It wasn’t a retreat, but He was all over it!

  1. Lisa says:

    Your alarm clock is getting louder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

