When is that moment?

If you haven’t noticed, there is a theme going around the cyber world this month. It is everywhere you look. Someone somewhere is thankful for something. Some people are thankful for serious things like health and family and friends. Some are a bit more whimsical in their thankfulness. Expressing thanks for the smallest of things that often go unnoticed.

I’ve seen very few people expressing thanks for difficulties. In fact, I don’t think I’ve chosen many, if any, of those to share myself. Those are very hard to be thankful for in the heat of the battle. At least they are for me.  I’m not like Corrie ten Boom, I would have had a hard time being thankful for the fleas.  I’d love for my life to be centered in all of 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, rejoicing always, praying continually and giving thanks in all circumstances.  It just sounds like a calm, peaceful existence….

Unfortunately, I have to be a good distance past trials to really be able to thank God for them. Sometimes years, decades even. I have to be able to look back at the blessing that came from them before I am able to let go of the pain.  I wonder how much pain we endure that we don’t have to because we don’t reach that place of thankfulness sooner.  I wonder how many of the small, whimsical blessings we miss even noticing because we are so focused on the pain of the moment.  I wonder if getting to that place sooner rather than later isn’t somehow tied to rejoicing, praying and being thankful for as much as we can possibly let ourselves be, even if it is just something whimsical.

 

Leave a Reply

