It doesn’t have to be out with the old.

I’ve been on a bit of a mission the past week or two. I’ve been listening to a very interesting study on prayer and as a side note, the speaker suggested reading thru the gospels and taking a look at how often Jesus talks about the Kingdom. It seems like I hear alot of preaching lately about “The Kingdom”. I’ve wondered a number of times if I’ve heard people talk about “The Kingdom” all my life and it’s one of those things I’ve just now been awake enough to hear, or if it’s the new catch phrase/hot topic. I’m not really sure, but I’m enjoying every bit of it.

So, I decided to actually read through the gospels on my own and make note of kingdom references. I thought about just doing a search on Bible Gateway, but decided it might be more fun and keep me focused while I was reading just to look for myself. Besides, I’m in between books because I haven’t landed on one on my list that I just have to read. (Don’t tell Sparky, Tell Sparky, she might throw a party and bake us a cake.)

I’m really glad I decided to take that approach because I’ve read things I am almost certain werent there before. Of course, I seem to find myself saying that more and more about my bible lately. I’m not sure if it is because it actually wasn’t there before, if I was asleep when I read that part before or if God just now has me in a place for that part. My guess is a mixture of the the last two.

So, as I was reading, this verse jumped out at me and since I’ve been trying to pay attention when that happens, I had to stop and ponder it for a bit. I don’t recall ever reading it before. He said to them, “Therefore every teacher of the law who has become a disciple in the kingdom of heaven is like the owner of a house who brings out of his storeroom new treasures as well as old.” – Matthew 13:52

I grew up in a church that didn’t do much preaching from the old testament. Sure, we studied all the “kid” stories in bible class, but the preaching was out of the New Testament and very rarely was the Old Testament mentioned. At least that is how I remember it. I never realized until the past 3 or 4 years how rich the Old Testament is in understanding the whole story of Christ and God’s plan for us. I never realized how much there is in the Old Testament that points to Jesus, so this verse really did make sense when I started pondering it. There really is so much that cannot be fully understood about the new without a look back at the old.

This verse also reminds me not to throw away all that I have learned in the past just because I am learning something new. It reminds me that there is value in the old even though we are not meant to stay there. It reminds me that while my life is a journey which is meant to be lived moving forward, I do not have to discard the old treasures in order to keep moving forward. My life story is both old and new and the new does not make sense apart from the old. While God gives me new treasures for a more fullfilling life today, they will become old treasures as I move along, but will still hold great value for my journey.

One thought on “It doesn’t have to be out with the old.

  1. Lisa says:

    That is definitely worth cake. 🙂

    The Old Testament is rich. Rich in stories, rich in treasures that must be searched out, rich in mysteries. A person can receive and walk in salvation without having heard a word of the OT, but oh, the riches they would miss!

Leave a Reply

