Let’s do it!

Pittura-Painting4

Image via Wikipedia

I’m thinking about taking an art class. I’ve always wanted to learn to paint with acrylics. I’m not sure why, but it has always sounded like fun. I’ve always thought it would be fun to paint a picture. Not just a paint by number water-color picture or a finger paint creation. Although that is fun.  I’ve got some peeps lined up to go with me, so now it is just a matter of planning.

Art was always my favorite class in school. I especially loved to draw and could look at just about anything and do a pretty good job of recreating it. My youngest peep can draw just about anything she looks at with amazing accuracy. I’m not sure how painting will compare to drawing, but I’m ready to give it a shot.

I don’t know what I want to paint, but there are a few painters that I wouldn’t mind learning from. I shared one a while back by the name of David Costello.  One day I want to own one of his pictures, but I haven’t narrowed down which one I’d like to buy just yet or where I will put it.  There are several that really speak to me.  Another artist I like is Thomas Kinkade.  I actually own one of his pictures and have a puzzle framed and matted that is a replica of one of his paintings.  I’d love to be able to paint light the way he does.  The thing I like about both of these painters is the way I can get lost in their work.

I don’t know how my painting journey will go.  I’m pretty sure it will be fun no matter how it ends up.  I know the first step will be a blast since it will include a few of my peeps, some laughs and a yummy beverage.  We are gonna try out Painting with a Twist.  It looks like it will be fun no matter what our creations end up like.  I’ll let you know!

6 thoughts on “Let’s do it!

  1. Lisa says:

    It will probably be a lot of fun. When are you going?

    • Laurie Wade says:

      I’m gonna check into dates for November. I think I’ll go by there this week or next and find out what pictures we can choose from. I think there will be 5 or 6 of us. Wish you were here to join in the fun!

  2. Lisa says:

    Me too. That would be fun. Although I still haven’t gotten the paint from today’s class off my hands. Guess it comes from using things other than brushes. 🙂

  3. pennyfell says:

    I envy your energy. Wish I had it!

  4. Victoria says:

    Awesome! Have fun…it’s awesome that you’re going after something you’ve wanted to do for a long time!

Leave a Reply

