In search of the zone!

I wonder when we stop dreaming about what we want to be when we grow up? I wonder what the magic “grown up” age is? I wonder if our childhood dreams of what we will become have anything to do with who God created each of us to be? I wonder how many people actually become what they dreamed about as a child?

I’ve got peeps that are fulfilling their childhood dreams. I think it’s awesome. I love seeing the look in their eyes when they are in the zone. I also know peeps who are immensely talented and gifted and have had opportunities in life to use those gifts and talents but aren’t in a season of life to do so right now. My heart is sad for those peeps because that seems like a very frustrating place to be. It makes me sad because of the impact they could be having on others. I think it makes me sad because they’ve been in the zone and aren’t right now. I love watching peeps in the zone and would love to see all my peeps living in their zones.

I’m in a third category.  The ones who haven’t quite narrowed it down yet.  I guess that’s part of the reason I’ve been pondering these things.  I’ve been stuck on the question of what I want to be when I “grow up” for a while. I’ve been stuck wondering what I want to do with the rest of my life. I’ve been stuck wondering what I can do with the rest of my life to make the biggest impact on those around me and for Him.

I’ve been asked what I wanted to be when I grew up a couple of times over the past year. I’m not really sure what I wanted to be as a little girl. I can’t really remember that far back. I do remember at some point wanting to be a vet, but science was not my favorite subject. I remember loving to draw and wanting to be a commercial artist. I’m not sure what happened to that dream. I also remember telling my dad I was going to be the CEO of General Motors or some big corporation. I’m not sure what happened to that one either. I know I had no intention of sitting behind a desk pushing a pencil. (Shhh, don’t tell anyone. That is what I do right now.)

The exercise that threw me into my current place of pondering was presented this past summer during a bible class. We were asked to create a purpose statement for our lives. A statement we could use to help us discover our unique purpose in God’s plan. A statement to give us focus and direction in an abundant life in Him. I still haven’t finished that exercise. I’ve actually had two opportunities to do so. The first time it was presented, it sent me into an emotional tail spin. I have no idea what I want to do when I grow up and that exercise just hit me wrong.

It was presented again as a part of a 4 part class that I was not able to attend. I had every intention of taking part in the class and doing the work, but the timing didn’t work in my favor.

It’s funny to think back on other times in my life that I’ve taken tests to see what I should do with my life. None of them seemed to work out too well for me. While in college, I took one to see what my occupation should be. At the end of the test, the results were tallied and I was presented with two options: Cigarette Vender and Funeral Director. I suppose those are loosely related…

The purpose statement exercise went like this:

1. Think of some positive adjectives about yourself, your best self, the more the better. Try to think of at least 5 or 6. Everyone’s list should be different! We are all created in God’s image, but he gave u different personalities and talents.

2. Now think of some right and good activities at which you are competent. When you are engaged in that activity, you believe it is just what God meant you to do.

3. Now look at the 2 lists. Form a sentence that you think describes your best self, doing just what God intended you to do. It would be the sort of sentence that, if it were said at the end of your life, you would believe your life had been abundant!

Examples:

I am a happy singer of spiritual songs.
I am an encouraging teacher.
I am a thoughtful comforter.

So, I’m still pondering what I want to do when I grow up. I’m still pondering my purpose statement. Maybe one day I’ll complete the exercise.  I want to live life in the zone.  I want to have the feeling those peeps must have when they are in their zones.  I can’t live on the mountain top praising God with 350 peeps every day of my life, but I’m pretty sure the zone feels something like that.  I want to be able to look back on my life and know I was in living it in the zone.

One thought on “In search of the zone!

  1. Joann says:

    I always dreamed that I would be a wife and a mom. I have done other things. I was a framer of art, a manager at a quilt/craft shop, and a patient manager at a health care clinic. They were all nice. I still find the most fulfillment from my current job, being a wife and mom. I don’t know that I am in the zone, but pretty close. It does make me sad when others can’t seem to find theirs.

Leave a Reply

