I’d rather just believe…

“The person who lives by his fears will not find freedom in my (God’s) love. I am not talking about rational fears regarding legitimate dangers, but imagined fears and especially the projection of those into the future. To the degree that those fears have a place in your life, you neither believe that I (God) am good nor know deep in your heart that I love you. You sing about it, you talk about it, but you don’t know it.” – William P Young (The Shack)

Whoa! This makes me think about the day I had to wrestle with the difference between believing God and believing in God. The day I had to ask myself if I believed Him or just believed in Him. I had never considered that there might be a difference. I’ve grown up believing in God. I can’t imagine looking around at this world and the people in it and not believing in Him.

BUT, do I believe Him? Do I believe all of His promises? Do I believe He is good? Can I entertain fear and still say I believe God is good? What is there to fear if I trust God? So, why would I profess to believe in God and not trust Him? What would make me not trust the creator of the universe?

One of the best studies I’ve ever done was Believing God by Beth Moore. She does a great job of working through the question of believing God versus just believing in God.

I pray one day I believe God more than I believe in Him. I pray I believe He is good and not just in His goodness. I pray I learn to trust Him and believe Him no matter how loud the fear gets in my ear.

One thought on “I’d rather just believe…

  1. Sandy says:

    I am so with you. The head and the heart are two different things. I look forward to the time when I will completely live out of my heart belief. The change is slow but worth it! Thanks for your post.

Leave a Reply

