Re-reading!

Cover of "The Shack"

Cover of The Shack

I really have plenty of books either in my possesion or on my list that I want to read without spending the time on one I’ve already read, BUT!!  I was given an assignment to read “The Shack” for a retreat.  I first read “The Shack” right after it came out.  It was good then, but it is FANTASTIC this time around.  We will be discussing the book over the next couple of days at our retreat.  I can’t wait to get to ponder over it a bit and let some of the ideas about God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit presented in the book sink in a bit more.  This may just be “The Shack” week on the blog.

I’ll give you a few quotes that stuck out to me for now and see where we go as the week moves along.  These particular quotes just gave me some stuff to chew and ponder on.

“Jesus, as human being, had no power within himself to heal anyone.”

“Who wants to worship a God who can be fully comprehended, eh?  Not much mystery in that.”

“Trust is the fruit of a relationship in which you know you are loved.”

“Forgiveness is not about forgetting, it’s about letting go of another person’s throat.”

There are so many more I want to share, but that would take longer than I have here today….see you tomorrow!!

3 thoughts on “Re-reading!

  1. Lisa says:

    Definitely an interesting and impactful read, that book is.

  2. Joann Eyster says:

    I read “The Shack” at a time when my life was in a spiral. I had this image of God being so far away. It changed so many ways that I thought about God. I have recommended it to friends who hated it. One even said it needed to be burned, but for me, it was a beacon to help me get through a really hard time. I think maybe a re-read is in order 🙂

Leave a Reply

