Maybe it should be changed!

I’ve been pondering this blog challenge all week. It’s not easy to think of a law or social more or rule I would change. Okay, the truth is, I’m not sure which rule I want to confess I would change. I actually have a few I’ve wanted to change for some time. I must admit if I think it is a dumb rule, I tend to want to buck up to it. Sometimes it’s easier to be a rule breaker than a rule changer.

There are just so many variables to consider when trying to change a rule. People!!! Let’s see…the rule maker…the rule enforcer…the rule follower who likes the rule…the rule follower who doesn’t like it, but submits without a word…I’m sure there are others I’ve forgotten This can be a lot of people to go up against to change a dumb rule. Especially if it is one that has been around for a long time. Especially if there is pride or ego behind the rule. Especially if it is a “religious” rule.

It occurs to me that it takes character to be a rule changer. A rule changer has to have courage and perseverance.
A rule changer has to be willing to stand up to opposition. A rule changer has to know when to push for change and when to wait a bit. A rule changer needs to know the right timing. A rule changer has to be willing to be unpopular. A rule changer has to be a rule breaker with a vision for something better.

No, I’m not going to reveal my list of rules I want to change. I’m going to continue to ponder them a while. I’m going to ponder which ones are worthy of the effort to go from being a rule breaker to a rule changer. I’m pretty sure a rule changer knows you can’t change them all.

3 thoughts on “Maybe it should be changed!

  1. Lisa says:

    Good insight about the difference between a rule-breaker and a rule-changer. 🙂

  2. Me thinks you’d be a good rule changer!

  3. Joann says:

    I am one of those “follow the rule because it’s the right thing to do even though I don’t care for it” people. You are right, it’s hard to be a rule changer!

Leave a Reply

